Communicating the A2 story

  One of the challenges of communicating the A2 story is its complexity. Another challenge is that the marketers of A2 milk are constrained by consumer legislation in the claims they can make. But  occasionally a consumer-friendly informative article does appear in the media. Today was one of those days, with an interesting and informative article in  Melbourne’s  ‘Sunday Herald Sun’.  According to Wikipedia, The ‘Herald Sun” has a circulation of just over half a million and a readership of 1.5 million.

Today’s A2 article can be found at  http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/milk-minus-mutants-boost-for-the-lactose-intolerant/story-e6frf7jo-1226096018913.

Alternatively, a pdf is attched here:  Milk minus mutants boost for the lactose intolerant

About Keith Woodford

Keith Woodford is an independent consultant, based in New Zealand, who works internationally on agri-food systems and rural development projects. He holds honorary positions as Professor of Agri-Food Systems at Lincoln University, New Zealand, and as Senior Research Fellow at the Contemporary China Research Centre at Victoria University, Wellington.
This entry was posted in A1 and A2 milk. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Communicating the A2 story

  1. Nick Turner says:

    An interesting thing about this is that the A2 people were not initially expecting A2 milk to be of benefit to those suffering lactose intolerance. The development of A2 milk was based on the well-known correlations between A1 milk and other health conditions such as heart disease and diabetes, and the links with autism, but the A2 promoters themselves said it was unlikely to overcome lactose intolerance. And some scientists warned sufferers of lactose intolerance that A2 could not be beneficial because it still contained lactose. Here is a case where the public have stumbled on something the experts didn’t expect. The anecdotal evidence is now piling up, and it’s getting harder and harder for entrenched dairy interests to deny any longer that A2 has health benefits. Surely it would be pretty easy to set up a clinical human trial on this particular aspect of the A1-A2 comparison, as the effects are measurable and immediate.

  2. Keith Woodford says:

    Nick
    I agree. I am hopeful that such a trial will occur shortly.
    But even a ‘simple’ clinical trial can be complex, and to be convincing to the sceptics it would be helpful if there can be objective measures as to what is happening in the gut, as well as how people feel.
    KeithW

  3. SC says:

    Keith,

    There is a debate going on http://www.chriskresser.com about A2 vs A1. Basically, the point being made is that the science behind A2 benefits/A1 dangers is weak at best. What is your view of the science at this point?

    http://chriskresser.com/raw-milk-reality-is-raw-milk-dangerous#comment-33440

    • Keith Woodford says:

      There is lots of science there for those who want to read it. A lot of it is refered to on this site. In my own data base there are now well over 500 relevant papers published in the peer reviewed scientific literature. Most people who take a position against A2 do so without reading that science. Instead, they rely on reports written by people aligned to the mainsrteam dairy industry, whose aim is to try and minimise the issue.
      Keith W

  4. afullpod says:

    We are originally from the States but currently living in New Zealand and have only recently stumbled across the A1/A2 story/debate, which I find extremely interesting! And quite honestly am incredibly grateful for as we journey toward greater health as a family. I bought A2 milk for the first time a few weeks ago (did not tell anyone I had switched) and 3 of my children commented on the milk tasting ‘different’… “Better or worse?” I asked; “Better!” they all answered. Would there be a taste difference?? Also, we do find it difficult to find A2 (thankfully Countdown in Rangiora nearby does stock A2), do you foresee A2 becoming more accessible? And what about Raw milk? Is it legal in NZ to buy/sell raw milk from the farm? And is there a way to find local A2/A2 dairy farms?

  5. Dom says:

    Hi Keith,

    This following reply was originally placed in the wrong article….hence I felt it should be posted here….

    I just read your book “Devil In The Milk” and found it very intriguing.

    My 2 year old daughter is an avid milk and water drinker. She has a very sensitive palate and does not like any kind of sugary/sweet beverage like fruit juice (Thank God). With milk being an important part of her daily intake, I began to persue what’s the best type of milk for her to drink. She is very healthy and vibrant, and I want to keep it that way!!

    My reading and research has really been a huge eye opener, (esp. after reading your book). I quickly learned that homogenized milk is and unnecessary process and just no good, hence it is no longer found in my household. While I understand that pasteurized milk does get rid of bad bacteria, it also kills off the good bacteria and enzymes found in raw milk. UHT milk is a dead milk, hence has no place in my household either.

    I myself have started outsourcing a cooperative that will deliver raw milk to my house since New Jersey is not a raw milk state. While I am trying to find A2 milk in the North East region of the USA, I have come up short. The closest I have come is to seek out raw milk that is mainly comprised of Jersey and Guernsey cows, knowing that their is a higher probability of them producing A2 milk. I do understand that without the testing for A2 allele, it’s a total gamble. For myself, the day I own ranch and cows, will be the day I will have A2 milk for myself. I personally switched over to drinking raw milk, and really think it’s far superior to pasteurized milk by comparison. I wish I could switch my daughter over to raw milk, but my wife is against it, and with good reason due to not knowing the condition of the farm where the cooperative raw milk comes from ( as of yet…..I am working on obtaining that info and paying them a visit).

    In regards to my daughter and A2 milk, your book was worthy enough for me to start switching her over to milk that is devoid of the A1 milk allele….hence goat and sheep milk. While it will be a big expense, the benefits are well worth it. I just wish that more concerned parents would push to try and get A2 milk into their own home for their children, as well as here in the USA.

    Thank you

Leave a Reply

